A Literary Education

Home » High School » It’s a New Year!

It’s a New Year!

January 2016
M T W T F S S
« Jun    
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Blog Stats

  • 1,880 hits

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 217 other followers

Goodreads

And that means setting reading goals.

For myself I have decided to try and read 150 books this year and also buy at least one book a month from a local, independent bookstore.

In reading aloud to my children lately I’ve realized a huge difference in the books we are enjoying.  They are ready for only YA or adult books now.  When we try to read a middle grade reader most of the time it’s just way below our reading and interest level.  Of course, that’s not always true.  A very well-written book will be enjoyed by all ages.  Unfortunately we haven’t been as lucky lately finding those well-written books.  I have a list of books I want to read to my high schoolers and here are a few I hope to get to in 2016.

To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee.  I’ve put this one off for WAY too long.

Great Expectations by Charles Dickens

How I Live Now by Meg Roseoff

Where Things Come Back by John Corey Whaley

The Catcher in the Rye by J. D. Salinger

The Princess Bride by William Goldman

I think it’s a doable and enjoyable list of books.  These won’t be our only books though because we will also have books we read for school.

We are also currently rereading Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets and we may continue on with the series to refresh our memory.  They are such enjoyable books to read aloud.

I told my kids that 2016 was The Year of the Book.  They rolled their eyes and said that I say that every year, but I’m pretty sure I have never said that.  Although to be fair, my memory is horrible.  Happy Reading all and if you read an amazing book please let me know in the comments.  Either to yourself or your older kids.  Happy New Year too!

1 Comment

  1. Karen Terry says:

    Looks like a great list. I really want Keilee to read “Catcher in The Rye”. I loved that book when I was young. I had actually read it before our 10th grade English teacher required it.

Leave a Reply

