A Literary Education

Home » Uncategorized » Read Aloud Book List for Ages 5 – 8

Read Aloud Book List for Ages 5 – 8

I’ve decided to make book lists broken into age categories. These are the books my children and I enjoyed. There are a few we haven’t read that I added because I have seen them recommended in several different places. I’m sure I’ve missed some great ones and of course not all books will be enjoyed by everyone. The ages are just guidelines. Look up the books (Amazon.com is my favorite place to read reviews, a synopsis and even a sample of the book in many cases) and that will help you decide when to read a particular book. It also depends on your child. My children were not sensitive, but some topics or writing styles I think are better saved for older ages. Winnie-the-Pooh is one book that many read at a very young age, but I personally think it is better enjoyed at an older age. There is just so much wit there. Another option would be to read it twice, with a few years in between readings.
I made this list with reading aloud in mind; therefore there are quite a few books and series that my children enjoyed on their own that I didn’t add because I don’t think them good for reading aloud. I may make another list of those at a later time. There are a few books that many people love that we personally didn’t enjoy, so they didn’t make my lists. I hope these will be a help to some of you.

BOOK LIST FOR READING ALOUD TO AGES 5 – 8
Beezus and Ramona by Beverly Cleary  Read all the Ramona books. This is the one where Ramona is the youngest so it’s the one I start with.
Henry Huggins by Beverly Cleary -Also read all the Henry Huggins series, especially good for boys if they’re not enjoying Ramona because they want a male main character.
Charlotte’s Web, Stuart Little and The Trumpet of the Swan by E. B White
Mr. Popper’s Penguins by Richard Atwater
Mrs. Piggle-Wiggle by Betty MacDonald and the others in the series
The Three Tales of My Father’s Dragon by Ruth Stiles Gannett (books can be purchased separately if you want smaller, lighter books)
The Story of Dr. Dolittle by Hugh Lofting (series)
A Bear Called Paddington by Michael Bond (series)
The Wind in the Willows by Kenneth Grahame
The Wonderful Wizard of Oz by L. Frank Baum (series)
The Boxcar Children by Gertrude Chandler Warner (series) These are very simple stories and my children loved them when they were young. I read the first few aloud and then they read some to themselves before moving on to more challenging stories.
The Cricket in Times Square by George Sheldon
Capyboppy by Bill Peet
Owls in the Family by Farley Mowat
Mary Poppins by P. L. Travers (series)
Pinocchio by Carlo Collodi
Socks by Beverly Cleary
Stone Fox by John Reynolds Gardiner
The Lorax by Dr. Seuss
Horton Hears a Who by Dr. Seuss
The Courage of Sarah Noble by Alice Dalgliesh
The Complete Adventures of Peter Rabbit by Beatrix Potter
The Bears on Hemlock Mountain by Alice Dalgliesh
Along Came a Dog by Meindert DeJong
The Family Under the Bridge by Natalie Savage Carlson
Abel’s Island by William Steig
The Chalkbox Kid by Clyde Robert Bulla. Bulla has written many wonderful books for early elementary that my kids all loved. The Sword in the Tree, Riding the Pony Express, Viking Adventure, Pocahontas and the Strangers…and others. I recommend all of his books.
The Stories Julian Tells by Ann Cameron (series)
Here We All Are by Tomie dePaola (series)
The Doll People by Ann M. Martin (series)
McBroom’s Wonderful One-Acre Farm by Sid Fleischman
A Light in the Attic and Where the Sidewalk Ends by Shel Silverstein (poetry)
The Velveteen Rabbit by Margery Williams (tear jerker…mostly just moms)
No Flying in the House by Betty Brock
The Moffats by Eleanor Estes and others in the series
The Cabin Faced West by Jean Fritz
The Apple and the Arrow by Conrad Bluff
The Random House Book of Poetry by Jack Prelutsky
Little Pear by Eleanor Frances Lattimore
Baby Island by Carol Ryrie Brink
The Chocolate Touch by Patrick Skene Catling
Jenny and the Cat Club by Esther Averill (series)
The Classic Treasury of Aesop’s Fables by Don Daily
A Child’s Garden of Verses by Robert Louis Stevenson (poetry)
A Child’s History of the World by V.M. Hillyer (world history in narrative form)

1 Comment

  1. Amy says:

    There are several books on your list that I loved growing up and a few I read but had forgotten. Good list!

Leave a Reply

